History of EMS Logo

A Brief History of Our Logo

First logo used (unknown years)

Logo 1

Second logo used (unkown-1994)

Logo 2

Current logo (1994-present)

In 1994, our logo  under-went a redesign process that resulted in its current design.

The design incorporates significant representation of the various community as well as clinical practice elements that has defined and molded both the traditional and current standards of performance for the department. The brown and gold dots represent the Gila River tribal colors.

The six-pointed Star of Life, starting from the top, and rotating clockwise, signify the following:

  1. Detection: Those first on the scene, usually untrained civilians or those involved in the incident, observe the scene, assess the problem, identify the dangers to themselves and others, and take appropriate measures to ensure their safety (environmental, electricity, chemicals, radiation, etc.).
  2. Reporting: The call for professional help is made and dispatch is connected with the victims, providing emergency medical dispatch.
  3. Response: The first rescuers provide first aid and immediate care to the extent of their capabilities.
  4. On Scene Care: Upon arrival at the scene, EMS personnel assess the situation and provide immediate care to the extent of their capabilities.
  5. Care in Transit: As they transfer the patient to a hospital, the EMS personnel provide medical care.
  6. Transfer to Definitive Care: Appropriate specialized care is provided at the hospital.

The Man in the Maze, positioned at the heart of the Star of Life, conveys many meanings. Although there is no known precise meaning of the image, interpretations vary from family to family, and the symbolism is a guarded tenet of sacred belief. A common interpretation is that the human figure represents the O’odham people and the maze signifies the difficult journey toward finding deeper meaning in life. The twists and turns represent struggles and lessons learned along the way. At the center of the maze is a circle, which stands either for death or for the ultimate realization of identity or eternity, and for becoming one with Elder Brother I’itoi, the Creator.

The Gila River Indian Community — the Akimel O’odham — refer to the Man in the Maze as the Se:he or the Elder Brother, the Creator. The journey of life is a journey through a maze, beginning at birth and continuing through childhood, adolescence, adulthood, and finally ending in old age. The four major turns in the path represent the four directions, and the center of the maze represents death. Death is the beginning of a new journey and, thus, the cycle repeats itself.

The map of the Gila River Indian Community overlays the Star of Life, defining the area to which the services of GREMS is dedicated. The seven eagle feathers that complete the logo represents the seven districts of the Gila River Indian Community:

  • District 1: Blackwater (Chukma Shuhthagi)
  • District 2: Sacaton Flats (Hahshani Kehk)
  • District 3: Sacaton (Ge’e Kih)
  • District 4: Goodyear (Valin Thak); Santan/Santa Ana (Santan); Stotonic (S-totonigk)
  • District 5: Bapchule (Pihpchul); Casa Blanca; Sacate Village; Sweetwater (S-iʼovi Shuhthagi); Vahki (Va’akih); Wet Camp Village
  • District 6: Gila Crossing (Kuiva); Komatke (Komadk); St. John’s; Santa Cruz (Hia-t-ab); Co-op Village (Chichino); Maricopa Colony
  • District 7: Co-op Village (Chichino); Maricopa Colony

Comments are closed.